

PROCLAMATION National Correctional Officers and Employees Week

WHEREAS, National Correctional Officers and Employees Week was first proclaimed on May 5, 1984, by President Ronald Reagan when he signed Proclamation 5187 creating "National Correctional Officers Week," to recognize the men and women who work in jails, prisons, and community corrections across the country; and

WHEREAS, National Correctional Officers and Employees Week became the official name the first week in May when, in 1986, the U.S. Senate officially changed the name from "National Correctional Officers Week"; and

WHEREAS, National Correctional Officers and Employees Week has been designated as the week of May 01, 2021, through May 07, 2022, by the U.S. Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Prisons; and

WHEREAS, National Correctional Officers and Employee Week honors the work of Correctional Officers and Correctional Personnel for their service with honor, respect, and integrity; and raises the awareness of the duties, hazards, and sacrifices made by the Correctional employees; and

WHEREAS, National Correctional Officers and Employees week in Brazos County recognizes Correctional officers and employees for their role in safeguarding the citizens of Brazos County by providing safe, secure, and humane incarceration of offenders within their custody;

WHEREAS, National Correctional Officers and Employees week in Brazos County this year wants to recognize all Correctional officers and employees for their acts of heroism, dedication to duty and commitment to our community during the COVID19 outbreak.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Commissioners Court of Brazos County, does hereby proclaim the week of May 01, 2022 through May 07, 2022, as "National Correctional Officers and Employees Week." All citizens are encouraged to pay tribute to all the many Correctional Employees working in Brazos County for the vital public service they provide.

PROCLAIMED this day of	, 2022.	
	Duane Peters,	County Judge
Commissioner Steve Aldrich Pct. 1		Commissioner Russ Ford Pct. 2
Commissioner Nancy Berry Pct. 3		Commissioner Irma Cauley Pct. 4