Perry Signs Bill for More Tier 1 Schools

RICHARDSON, Texas (AP) _ Gov. Rick Perry today signed into law a bill that awards seven Texas universities millions of dollars to help them become top U.S. research institutions.

Perry, who appeared at the University of Texas at Dallas campus in Richardson, says the money will give the state an edge at a time when public universities are struggling financially.

UT-Dallas will get matching funds from the state for grants, scholarships and endowments.

The other six schools are Texas Tech, the University of Houston, the University of North Texas, UT-Arlington, UT-San Antonio and UT-El Paso.

Lawmakers and university officials say the new effort will help the state add 2 or 3 more top research universities within a decade.

Texas currently has three tier one schools: Texas A&M, the University of Texas at Austin and Rice University.