Judie on another watch list

Texas A&M senior cornerback Coryell Judie was named to the Bronko Nagurski Award “watch list,” the Football Writers Association of America announced.

The Nagurski Award is annually given to college football’s best defensive player, and it marks the third national award to recognize Judie as a candidate. Judie was also named to the watch lists for the Bednarik Award (given to nation’s outstanding defensive player) and the College Football Performance Awards (defensive back and kickoff returner).

In his A&M debut season in 2010, the former Marlin High School standout tied for the team lead with four pickoffs and had eight broken up passes, while making 57 tackles. As a kickoff returner, Judie averaged 30.2 yards on 20 returns with two touchdowns.

ESPN.com also released its preseason All-Big 12 team, which featured five Aggies: senior Cyrus Gray and junior Christine Michael at running back, senior Tony Jerod-Eddie at defensive line, senior Trent Hunter at defensive back and Judie at defensive back and kickoff returner.

National Award Watch Lists (As of 7/8/2011)

Bronko Nagurski Award (best defensive player):
CB Coryell Judie

Maxwell Award (outstanding player):
WR Jeff Fuller
RB Cyrus Gray
QB Ryan Tannehill

Bednarik Award (outstanding defensive player):
CB Coryell Judie

Biletnikoff Award (outstanding receiver):
WR Jeff Fuller
WR Ryan Swope

Lou Groza Award (outstanding placekicker):
PK Randy Bullock

Pony Express Award (outstanding pair or trio):
QB Ryan Tannehill, RB  Cyrus Gray, WR Jeff Fuller

College Football Performance Awards:
Coryell Judie (kickoff return and defensive back)
Dustin Harris (punt return and defensive back)
Damontre Moore (linebacker)
Ryan Tannehill (quarterback)
Cyrus Gray (running back)
Jeff Fuller (wide receiver)
Ryan Swope (wide receiver).