WTAW Receives 12 Texas Associated Press Broadcasters Awards

Texas Associated Press Broadcasters (TAPB) has announced News/Talk WTAW received 12 awards for news and sports programming during 2019.

WTAW awards were in the radio division that includes all cities except Dallas/Ft. Worth, Houston, San Antonio, and Austin.

TAPB’s annual awards banquet, scheduled for April 4, was cancelled due to coronavirus.

WTAW first place TAPB award recipients:

Newscast: Chelsea Reber

Reporter: Chelsea Reber

Feature (Light): Scott DeLucia for “Roundabouts with the Mayor“

Use of Actuality-Production: Bill Oliver for “Bush 41 Train.“

Continuing Coverage: Bill Oliver for “Speaker Fails to Unseat Local Representatives.“

WTAW second place TAPB award recipients:

Newscast: Bill Oliver

Reporter: Zach Taylor

Feature (Light): The Infomaniacs for “First Call.`

General Assignment: Bill Oliver for “College Station Cemetery.“

Feature (Serious): Bill Oliver for “Bush 41 Train.“

Specialty or Beat Reporting: Bill Oliver for “Bryan Texas City Government.“

Best Local Talk Show: Scott DeLucia for “Congressman Not Running for Re-Election.“