## Agenda Item No. 19

## **TEXAS A&M UNIVERSITY**

Office of the President April 22, 2014

Members, Board of Regents The Texas A&M University System

Subject: Adoption of a Resolution Honoring Texas A&M University Head Soccer Coach

Gerald Guerrieri for His Leadership and the Texas A&M Soccer Coaching Staff and

Players for Their Performance During the 2013 Season

I respectfully request the Board of Regents' approval of the following resolution honoring Head Coach Guerrieri and the Texas A&M University soccer coaching staff and players.

"WHEREAS, Head Coach Gerald Guerrieri's talented staff includes Associate Head Coach Phil Stephenson, Assistant Coach Lori Stephenson, Assistant Coach Mary Grace Schmidt, Director of Operations Curt Magnuson, Strength and Conditioning Coach Paul Sealey and Athletic Trainer Andi Tate; and

WHEREAS, the Texas A&M University soccer team under the direction of Head Coach Guerrieri won its first SEC Tournament title with a 2-1 win over Florida on November 10, 2013, at Orange Beach Soccer Complex in Orange Beach, Alabama; and

WHEREAS, the team earned its first ever SEC regular season championship with a 9-2 conference record and an 18-5-2 overall record; and

WHEREAS, the Aggie soccer program earned a berth to its 19th consecutive NCAA Tournament; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Guerrieri was named the Southeastern Conference Coach of the Year; and

WHEREAS, the team advanced to its 12<sup>th</sup> NCAA Division I Championship Sweet Sixteen defeating Utah 1-0 at Ellis Field in College Station, Texas, November 15, 2013, and advanced in a shootout against Texas Tech University at Fetzer Field in Chapel Hill, North Carolina, November 22, 2013; and

WHEREAS, all members of the Texas A&M Soccer Team displayed a high dedication and proficiency, and spent countless hours in training, including: Allie Bailey, Bianca Brinson, Janae Cousineau, Ana Cruz, Jordan Day, Leigh Edwards, Shea Groom, Ashlynn Harryman, Liz Keester, Annie Kunz, Rachel Lenz, Kristi Leonard, Renee McDermott, Kelley Monogue, Karlie Mueller, Cristina Sanchez-Quintanar, Taylor Saucier, Sarah Shaw, Meghan Streight, Jackie Tondl and Grace Wright; and

WHEREAS, the team earned a Cumulative Team Grade Point Average of 3.227; and

WHEREAS, Shea Groom garnered national distinction on the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) All-America Third Team, while she and Meghan Streight also earned national distinction on the NSCAA Scholar All-America First Team; and

Agenda Item No. 19 April 22, 2014

WHEREAS, Ms. Groom and Ms. Streight secured regional distinction on the NSCAA All-South Region First Team and Ms. Groom, Ms. Streight, Leigh Edwards and Annie Kunz earned distinction on the NSCAA Scholar All-South Region Team; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Groom, Ms. Streight, Ms. Edwards, Jordan Day and Kelley Monogue were selected to the All-SEC Team and Liz Keester was named to the SEC All-Freshman Team; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Keester was selected as SEC Tournament MVP and Allie Bailey, Ms. Groom, Ms. Keester and Ms. Streight were named to the SEC All-Tournament Team; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Streight, Ms. Edwards, Ms. Groom, Ms. Kunz, Rachel Lenz, Kristi Leonard, Karlie Mueller, Cristina Sanchez-Quintanar, Janae Cousineau, and Jackie Tondl earned distinction on the SEC Academic Honor Roll; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the Board of Regents of The Texas A&M University System desires to express its appreciation for the outstanding leadership shown by Head Coach Guerrieri, and the Texas A&M soccer coaching staff, and the performance of the Texas A&M University Soccer Team during the 2013 college soccer season; and, be it, further

RESOLVED, that this resolution be included in the minutes, and copies thereof, signed by the Chairman of the Board of Regents, be presented to Head Coach Guerrieri, to the coaching staff and other staff members, and to each member of the team, and to the Archives of Texas A&M University, as a permanent mark of this Board's appreciation and gratitude to all these individuals for a job well done.

ADOPTED, this 1<sup>st</sup> day of May 2014."

Respectfully submitted,

[ORIGINAL SIGNED BY]

Mark A. Hussey Interim President

**Approval Recommended:** 

**Approved for Legal Sufficiency:** 

[ORIGINAL SIGNED BY]

John Sharp Chancellor [ORIGINAL SIGNED BY]

Ray Bonilla General Counsel

[ORIGINAL SIGNED BY]

Billy Hamilton Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Financial Officer