Home » Sports » Four Aggies Named to Preseason Coaches All-SEC Team

Four Aggies Named to Preseason Coaches All-SEC Team

(Source: Texas A&M Athletics)

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Four Aggies were honored as the Southeastern Conference announced the 2019 Preseason Coaches All-Conference Football Team Thursday morning. Junior defensive lineman Justin Madubuike and senior punter Braden Mann headlined the group as first team honorees, while junior quarterback Kellen Mond was named to the league’s third team and sophomore Jashaun Corbin was recognized for his work on offense as well as on special teams.

Madubuike appeared in every game over the last two seasons, making 12 starts on the defensive line in 2018. The McKinney, Texas native is the Aggies’ leading returning tackler after recording 10.5 tackles for loss and 5.5 sacks last season. Madubuike has been named to a number of preseason watch lists and was selected to the Preseason All-SEC Second Team by the media at SEC Media Day.

Mann became the first Aggie to win the Ray Guy Award, given to the nation’s top punter, doing so after a record-setting junior season. The Houston native tacks on another preseason honor after he set the NCAA records for punting average (50.98), 60-yard punts in a season (14) and single-game punting average (60.8) last year. Mann earned consensus All-America honors for his efforts in 2018 as the only punter to post a punting average over 50 yards (51.0).

Mond tallied over 30 touchdowns a season ago as he saw an increase in every statistical category from his freshman campaign. The San Antonio, Texas native finished fourth in total offense, fifth in touchdowns through the air and sixth in passing yardage in the Southeastern Conference. After securing the starting job as a sophomore, Mond currently owns three single-game passing records for yards and is tied for second on the single-game touchdown passes list.

Corbin was named to the league’s second team as a return specialist and the third team as the all-purpose back. On special teams, he tallied 853 all-purpose yards last season to lead all SEC freshmen with an impressive 10 yards per play. The Rockledge, Florida native added 422 kick return yards to lead the conference with a 30.1 kick return average. Playing behind NFL Draft pick Trayveon Williams, Corbin accounted for 346 rushing yards on 61 carries, scoring one time on the ground as a freshman. For his efforts a season ago, Corbin earned All-Freshman Team honors from the league’s coaches as a running back, all-purpose player and return specialist.

Texas A&M opens 2019 against Texas State on August 29 at Kyle Field, a Thursday night contest set to be broadcast on SEC Network.

Fans are encouraged to visit or call the 12th Man Foundation at 888-99-AGGIE to explore all of their ticketing options to attend one or more of the Aggies’ seven home games this fall as well as the Southwest Classic vs. Arkansas at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas. Additionally, fans can fill out the form on this page and a 12th Man Foundation representative will contact them to discuss ticketing options.

2019 Preseason Coaches All-SEC Football Team (* – ties)

First Team Preseason All-SEC 
TE           Albert Okwuegbunam, Missouri
OL           Andrew Thomas, Georgia
Alex Leatherwood, Alabama
Jedrick Wills Jr., Alabama*
Tre’Vour Wallace-Simms, Missouri*
Prince Tega Wanogho, Auburn*
C            Lloyd Cushenberry, LSU
WR        Jerry Jeudy, Alabama
Kalija Lipscomb, Vanderbilt
QB         Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama
RB          D’Andre Swift, Georgia
Najee Harris, Alabama
AP          Jaylen Waddle, Alabama

DL          Raekwon Davis, Alabama
Derrick Brown, Auburn
Rashard Lawrence, LSU
Justin Madubuike, Texas A&M
LB          Dylan Moses, Alabama
Erroll Thompson, Mississippi State
Cale Garrett, Missouri
DB          C.J. Henderson, Florida
Grant Delpit, LSU
J.R. Reed, Georgia
Trevon Diggs, Alabama*
Kristian Fulton, LSU*

PK          Rodrigo Blankenship, Georgia
P            Braden Mann, Texas A&M
RS          Jaylen Waddle, Alabama

Second Team Preseason All-SEC 
TE           Jared Pinkney, Vanderbilt
OL          Damien Lewis, LSU
Logan Stenberg, Kentucky
Solomon Kindley, Georgia
Isaiah Wilson, Georgia
C            Darryl Williams, Mississippi State
WR         Henry Ruggs III, Alabama
Bryan Edwards, South Carolina
QB         Jake Fromm, Georgia
RB          Ke’Shawn Vaughn, Vanderbilt
Lamical Perine, Florida
AP          Lynn Bowden, Kentucky

DL          Jabari Zuniga, Florida
Marlon Davidson, Auburn
Javon Kinlaw, South Carolina
Nick Coe, Auburn
LB          Anfernee Jennings, Alabama
De’Jon Harris, Arkansas
David Reese II, Florida
DB          Xavier McKinney, Alabama
Patrick Surtain II, Alabama
DeMarkus Acy, Missouri
Cameron Dantzler, Mississippi State

PK          Evan McPherson, Florida
P             Tommy Townsend, Florida
RS           Jashaun Corbin, Texas A&M*
Marquez Callaway, Tennessee*

Third Team Preseason All-SEC 
TE          Charlie Woerner, Georgia
OL          Yasir Durant, Missouri
Ben Cleveland, Georgia
Matt Womack, Alabama
Marquel Harrell, Auburn*
Mike Horton, Auburn*
C             Drake Jackson, Kentucky
WR        Jaylen Waddle, Alabama
Lynn Bowden, Kentucky*
Justin Jefferson, LSU*
QB         Kellen Mond, Texas A&M
RB          Larry Rountree, Missouri
Kylin Hill, Mississippi State
AP          Jashaun Corbin, Texas A&M

DL          McTelvin Agim, Arkansas
Chauncey Rivers, Mississippi State
Tyler Clark, Georgia
LaBryan Ray, Alabama*
Dayo Odeyingbo, Vanderbilt*
Jordan Elliott, Missouri*
LB           Michael Divinity, LSU
T.J. Brunson, South Carolina*
Darrell Taylor, Tennessee*
Jacob Phillips, LSU*
DB          Daniel Thomas, Auburn
Nigel Warrior, Tennessee
Shyheim Carter, Alabama
Kamren Curl, Arkansas*
Jaycee Horn, South Carolina*
Javaris Davis, Auburn*

PK          Tucker McCann, Missouri*
Anders Carlson, Auburn*
P            Zach Von Rosenberg, LSU
RS           Lynn Bowden, Kentucky

Share this article:

Short URL:

Posted by on Aug 15 2019. Filed under Sports.
Listen Live to WTAW 1620
Half Price Tuition

© 2019 WTAW. All Rights Reserved. Log in