Home » Sports » Texas A&M Men’s, Women’s Swimmers earn All-SEC Honors

Texas A&M Men’s, Women’s Swimmers earn All-SEC Honors

Nine Aggies Earn Swimming & Diving All-SEC Honors

(Source: Justin Casterline)

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. — Texas A&M junior swimmer Benjamin Walker earned first-team All-Southeastern Conference honors to highlight the Aggie men’s team’s representation on the 2019 SEC Swimming and Diving Awards, the conference office announced.

Walker, from The Woodlands, Texas, became the first Texas A&M swimmer to earn first-team honors after winning the 200-yard breaststroke at the 2019 SEC Championships. Walker went on to earn first-team All-America honors in the 200 breast at the NCAA Championships, as well as honorable mention honors with the 200 and 400 medley relays.

Earning second-team All-SEC honors were seniors Angel MartinezSteven Richardson and Sam Thornton, junior Adam Koster, sophomores Kurtis Mathews and Mark Theall and freshmen Clayton Bobo and Shaine Casas. Casas was also named to the All-Freshman Team.

All-SEC First Team
Benjamin Walker, 200 Breaststroke

All-SEC Second Team
Clayton Bobo, 800 Free Relay
Shaine Casas, 800 Free Relay, 400 Medley Relay
Adam Koster, 400 Medley Relay
Angel Martinez, 400 Medley Relay
Kurtis Mathews, 3m Dive
Steven Richardson, 800 Free Relay
Mark Theall, 800 Free Relay
Sam Thornton, 1m Dive

All-Freshman Team
Shaine Casas, 200 Backstroke


Texas A&M’s Bultman, Pickrem honored by SEC coaches

(Source: Justin Casterline)

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. — Texas A&M head women’s coach Steve Bultman was named the Southeastern Conference Women’s Swimming Coach of the Year for the second straight year and senior Sydney Pickrem received Co-Swimmer of the Year honors, the conference office announced on Wednesday.

Under Bultman’s direction, the Aggies won the SEC team title for a fourth straight year and went on to place 14th at the NCAA Championships. For Bultman, it was the 17th time that he has been honored as a conference coach of the year or coach of the meet. It was his fourth SEC Coach of the Year honor after earning the award in 2014, 2017 and 2018.

Pickrem, from Dunedin, Fla., has now won or shared the Swimmer of the Year Award in consecutive seasons. She shared the honor with Tennessee’s Erika Brown. Pickrem’s outstanding senior campaign included a SEC Championship (800-yard freestyle relay) and two runner-up individual finishes in the 200 IM and 200 breaststroke. At the NCAA Championships, Pickrem posted runner-up efforts in the 400 IM and 200 breast and third-place honors in the 200 IM.

Also being honored by the SEC were nine Texas A&M women’s swimmers and divers that earned first- or second-team All-SEC honors or were named to the All-Freshman Team.

All-SEC First Team
Anna Belousova, 100/200 Breaststroke
McKenna DeBever, 800 Free Relay
Sydney Pickrem, 800 Free Relay
Katie Portz, 800 Free Relay
Claire Rasmus, 800 Free Relay

All-SEC Second Team
Monika Gonzalez-Hermosillo, 400 IM
Alaïs Kalonji, Platform Dive
Jing Wen Quah, Texas A&M, 200 Butterfly

All-Freshman Team
Kylie Powers, 100 Breaststroke


Stories courtesy of Texas A&M Athletics

Share this article:

Short URL:

Posted by on Apr 11 2019. Filed under Sports.
Listen Live to WTAW 1620
Half Price Tuition

© 2020 WTAW. All Rights Reserved. Log in