Home » Sports » Texas A&M Football’s Fan Appreciation Day Scheduled for August 12

Texas A&M Football’s Fan Appreciation Day Scheduled for August 12

COLLEGE STATION, Texas – Texas A&M junior forward Ally Watt was tabbed to the 45-player preseason watch list for the Missouri Athletic Club’s Hermann Trophy, the most prestigious individual award in NCAA soccer, United Soccer Coaches (formerly the National Soccer Coaches Association of America) announced Thursday.

Watt finished the 2017 season as the Aggies’ leading scorer with 24 points on a team-high 11 goals and two assists. She earned All-SEC First Team, United Soccer Coaches All-Southeast Region First Team and SEC Tournament All-Tournament team recognition. Watt was named the SEC Offensive Player of the Week on Oct. 2 after scoring both goals in Texas A&M’s 2-1 win over Arkansas.

The Colorado Springs native was a redshirt during the 2016 campaign while playing for the United States Under-20 Women’s National Team. She played in 14 matches for the United States U20 squad, including five matches at the FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup in Papua New Guinea. She notched seven goals during her time with the United States U20 squad, including two tallies in World Cup action.

At the World Cup, Watt played as a reserve in the first five matches, not seeing the pitch as the USA dropped a 1-0 decision to South Korea in the third-place match. She was named the FIFA Player of the Match in USA’s 2-1 victory over Mexico, entering the match in the 73rd minute and scoring an equalizer in the 81st minute.

Watt earned SEC All-Freshman recognition in 2015. She earned 26 caps that season, including 17 starts. Her rookie campaign was highlighted by seven goals, including four game winners. She scored the Aggies’ lone goal in their memorable victory over North Carolina at the NCAA Championship, the first time in 32 years the Tar Heels had been vanquished before the Sweet 16. She also earned SEC Freshman of the Week distinction after she accounted for the lone goal in a win at Kentucky.

The list was compiled by the United Soccer Coaches Women’s Division I All-America Committee, based on their analysis of returning All-America and All-Region players, as well as any prominent newcomers.

The list will be adjusted as the season progresses. Near the end of the regular season, NCAA Division I coaches that are United Soccer Coaches members will vote on their top choices and the lists will be narrowed down to the top 15 semifinalists. From the pool, three finalists will be selected with the winners announced in January.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is presented annually to one male and one female athlete. The winners will be announced Friday, Jan. 4, 2018, at the trophy presentation banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

For more information about the history of the MAC Hermann Trophy and a list of past winners, visit

Texas A&M wrapped up the 2017 season with a program best winning percentage (.864) on 18-2-2 mark. The Aggies earned a bid to their 23rd consecutive NCAA Championship and advanced to the second round of the tournament for the 19th straight season.

The Maroon & White open the 2018 campaign on August 17 as they travel to Honolulu for a match against the Hawai’i Rainbow Wahine. Texas A&M has an exhibition match scheduled at Ellis Field for Saturday, August 11 vs. TCU.

Story courtesy of Texas A&M Athletics

Short URL:

Posted by on Aug 10 2018. Filed under Sports.
Listen Live to WTAW 1620
Half Price Tuition

© 2019 WTAW. All Rights Reserved. Log in -