Home » Sports » U.S. leader Devin Dixon earns third SEC Runner of the Week honor

U.S. leader Devin Dixon earns third SEC Runner of the Week honor

BIRMINGHAM – For the third time this season Texas A&M sophomore Devin Dixon has been named SEC Runner of the Week. Dixon won the 800m at the LSU Invitational in a career best time of 1:45.62, the leading time among Americans for the 2018 outdoor season which also ranks eighth on the world list.

The 2017 SEC Outdoor and 2018 SEC Indoor champion at 800m, Dixon bettered the time of 1:45.71 he set in winning the conference outdoor title as a freshman last May. His effort makes him the No. 2 performer with the No. 3 performance on the Aggie all-time list.

Racing at the LSU Invitational in Baton Rouge, Dixon was challenged by Ghana’s Alex Amankwa, who ran 1:45.81 as runner-up. Dixon also split 45.9 as the third leg of the Aggie 4×400 relay, which placed second in 3:05.32.

Texas A&M will compete in the SEC Championships on May 11-13 in Knoxville. The Aggie men are ranked No. 4 and the women are No. 7 in the latest national team computer rankings produced by USTFCCCA.


Men’s Runner of the Week: Devin Dixon, Texas A&M
Men’s Field Athlete of the Week: KeAndre Bates, Florida
Men’s Freshman of the Week: Dwight St. Hillaire, Kentucky
Women’s Runner of the Week: Jasmine Camacho-Quinn, Kentucky
Women’s Runner of the Week: Karissas Schweizer, Missouri
Women’s Field Athlete of the Week: Yanis David, Florida
Women’s Freshman of the Week: Sydney McLaughlin, Kentucky


Texas A&M senior Will Williams recently received Academic Momentum Award first team honors from the Scholar Baller program.

Top nominations were categorized into three teams based on each student-athlete’s academic improvement and impact each student-athlete had on his or her classmates, teammates, academic advisors, and professors.

Williams, the NCAA Indoor long jump champion this season, was one of eight student-athletes chosen for the award from NCAS partner schools. Other first team recipients included Jaleel Wheeler (Tulsa, basketball), James Washington (Oklahoma State, football), Kali Hazera (Florida Atlantic, track and field), Mandy Coleman (Oklahoma State, basketball), Patrick Park (Arizona State, swimming), Shae Chapman (Georgia State, volleyball), and Yoanse Meias (Oklahoma, wrestling).

Story courtesy of Texas A&M Athletics

Short URL:

Posted by on May 2 2018. Filed under Sports.
Listen Live to WTAW 1620
Half Price Tuition

© 2019 WTAW. All Rights Reserved. Log in -