Home » Featured Stories, News » Interviews Following Brazos County March 6 Primary Results

Interviews Following Brazos County March 6 Primary Results

Three Brazos County primary races were decided Tuesday. John Raney defeated three opponents to win the Republican nomination for House District 14. Irma Cauley won the Democratic nomination for Brazos County commissioner in precinct four. And there is a new chairman of the Republican party in Brazos County, after David Hilburn defeated incumbent Paul Rieger.

Four Brazos County primary races are advancing to runoff elections in May. The most crowded of those fields involved the five Republicans running for district clerk. Margaret Meece, who received the most votes, will face Gabriel Garcia, who edged Krystal Kelly.

Three of the four Brazos County primary races that are advancing to runoff elections involve Justice of the Peace positions. In precinct one, the runoff candidates are Kenny Elliott and Joshua Benn, in precinct two the candidates of Tommy Munoz and Terrence Nunn, and in precinct four the candidates are Celina Vasquez and Manny Aguilar.

Brazos County Republican Party Chairman:

Paul Rieger 4787
David Hilburn 5883



State Representative district 14 Republican primary:

Jeston Texeira 146
John Raney 4917 57.7%
Sarah Laningham 2005
Rick Davis 1454



State Representative district 14 Democratic primary:

Josh Wilkinson 2429
Alex Vidal 1416



Brazos County District Clerk Republican primary:

Rudy Schultz 1917
Gabriel Garcia 2107 heading to runoff
Krystal Kelly 2031
Margaret Meece 4357 heading to runoff
Melissa Bouis 1007





Brazos County Commission precinct 4 Democratic primary:

Tommy Anderson 244
Irma Cauley 1028



Brazos County JP precinct 1 Republican primary:

Kenny Elliott 1239 heading to runoff
Justin Lopez 368
Sue Elliott 855
Joshua Benn 867 heading to runoff





Brazos County JP precinct 2 Republican primary:

Mark Taplette 463
Terrence Nunn 1458 heading to runoff
Tommy Munoz 1653 heading to runoff
Robbie James 975





Brazos County JP precinct 4 Democratic primary:

Manny Aguilar 407 heading to runoff
Celina Vasquez 543 heading to runoff
Darrell Booker 300





State Senate district 5 Republican primary (207 of 207 precincts in the district):

Harold Ramm 16,576
Charles Schwertner 49,962

State Senate district 5 Democratic primary (204 of 207 precincts in the district):

Brian Cronin 5,345
Meg Walsh 22,436
Glenn Williams 3,770

State Representative district 12 Democratic primary (113 of 113 precincts in the district):

Marianne Arnold 2,180
Chris Miller 1,472

Share this article:

Short URL:

Posted by on Mar 13 2018. Filed under Featured Stories, News.
Listen Live to WTAW 1620
Half Price Tuition

© 2019 WTAW. All Rights Reserved. Log in