Home » Sports » Texas A&M Trio Named to Outland Trophy Watch List

Texas A&M Trio Named to Outland Trophy Watch List

DALLAS — A trio of Texas A&M offensive linemen were named to the preseason “watch list” for the prestigious Outland Trophy, which is given annually to college football’s top interior lineman.

Representing Texas A&M on the watch list were senior Cedric Ogbuehi, junior Mike Matthews and sophomore Germain Ifedi. With their three watch-listers the Aggies match season-opening opponent South Carolina for most players on the list of Outland Trophy candidates. The Aggies and Gamecocks will face off on Aug. 28 in Columbia, S.C. in the debut college football game on the SEC Network.

With the trio helping clear the way for the Aggies’ offensive attack, Texas A&M led the Southeastern Conference in passing, total and scoring offense and ranked in top 10 nationally in all three statistical categories. The Aggies produced 10 500-yard plus games and 11 games with 40 or more points in 2013.

Ogbuehi, from Allen, Texas, is entering his fourth year as a starter, but will be shifting to the all-important left tackle position for his final season. He will replace 2013 Outland Trophy finalist Jake Matthews, who moved on the NFL as the first round pick of the Atlanta Falcons (No. 6 overall). Ogbuehi shined at right tackle in 2013 after lining up at guard as a freshman and sophomore. The versatile Ogbuehi has been projected as the top overall selection in next year’s NFL Draft by some draft analysts.

Matthews, from Missouri City, Texas, and Ifedi, from Houston, were both first-time starters in 2013. Matthews, who is also a candidate for the Rimington Trophy, started all 13 games at center, while Ifedi started every game at right guard. Ifedi could have a new position in 2014 as he looked solid at right tackle during the Aggies’ spring training.

2014 Outland Trophy watch list
DT Malcom Brown, Texas
OG Vadal Alexander, LSU
C Jack Allen, Michigan State
DL Henry Anderson, Stanford
C David Andrews, Georgia
DT Michael Bennett, Ohio State
C Evan Boehm, Missouri
C Jake Brendel, UCLA
OG A.J. Cann, South Carolina
OT Le’Raven Clark, Texas Tech
OT La’el Collins, LSU
OT Jack Conklin, Michigan State
DT Christian Covington, Rice
DT Carl Davis, Iowa
DT Sheldon Day, Notre Dame
C Reese Dismukes, Auburn
OT Jamil Douglas, Arizona State
OT Spencer Drango, Baylor
OT Cameron Erving, Florida State
C Dominic Espinosa, Texas
C B.J. Finney, Kansas State
OT Jake Fisher, Oregon
C Hroniss Grasu, Oregon
OT Rob Havenstein, Wisconsin
OT Sean Hickey, Syracuse
OT D.J. Humphries, Florida
DT Chucky Hunter, TCU
OT Germain Ifedi, Texas A&M
OG Tre’ Jackson, Florida State
DT Grady Jarrett, Clemson
OG Kaleb Johnson, Rutgers
OT Tyler Johnstone, Oregon
C Ryan Kelly, Alabama
OG Arie Kouandjio, Alabama
OG Alex Kozan, Auburn
OT Eric Lefeld, Cincinnati
OG Cyril Lemon, North Texas
DT Luther Maddy, Virginia Tech
OG Shaquille Mason, Georgia Tech
OG Josue Matias, Florida State
C Mike Matthews Texas, A&M
DT Robert Nkemdiche, Ole Miss
OT Cedric Ogbuehi, Texas A&M
OT Andrus Peat, Stanford
DL A’Shawn Robinson, Alabama
OT Corey Robinson, South Carolina
OT Brandon Scherff, Iowa
C Isaac Seumalo, Oregon State
OT Brandon Shell, South Carolina
DT Danny Shelton, Washington
OT Donovan Smith, Penn State
C Jake Smith, Louisville
OG Quinton Spain, West Virginia
OG Laken Tomlinson, Duke
C Max Tuerk, USC
OT Laremy Tunsil, Ole Miss
C Brandon Vitabile, Northwestern
OG Cody Whitehair, Kansas State
OG Cody Wichmann, Fresno State
OT Daryl Williams, Oklahoma
DL Leonard Williams, USC
OG Torrian Wilson, UCF
DT Gabe Wright, Auburn
OT Michael Yeck, BYU

Story courtesy of Texas A&M Athletics

Short URL: http://wtaw.com/?p=83391

Posted by on Jul 10 2014. Filed under Sports.
Listen Live to WTAW 1620

© 2018 WTAW. All Rights Reserved. Log in -