Home » Sports » Bultman Named SEC Coach of the Year

Bultman Named SEC Coach of the Year

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. — Texas A&M head women’s swimming coach Steve Bultman was named Southeastern Conference Women’s Coach of the Year after leading the Aggies to one of the best seasons in program history, the SEC office announced on Thursday.

The Aggies were strong from start to finish in 2013-14 as they streaked to an undefeated (8-0-1) dual meet record, and then went on to finish second at the SEC Championships and finished fourth at the NCAA Championships for a second straight season, which matched the highest finish in program history.

The lone blemish on an otherwise perfect dual meet schedule was a 150-150 tie with eventual SEC and NCAA team champion Georgia. During the regular season, the Aggies logged non-conference wins over Texas, Rice, SMU, Houston and North Texas, and earned wins over SEC foes Vanderbilt, Missouri and LSU.

At the SEC meet, the Aggies finished second to Georgia for the second straight year while generating 10 All-SEC performers and having two freshmen named to the SEC All-Freshman team. Senior Breeja Larson earned SEC Swimmer of the Meet honors.

The Aggies took a school record 16 swimmers to the NCAA meet and went on to score a school record 336 points. Three Aggies (Cammile Adams, Larson and Paige Miller) won NCAA titles and 12 of the Aggies’ 16 participants earned All-America honors.

For the season, the Aggies broke nine school records —  the 100 breaststroke, 100 backstroke, 200 backstroke, 200 butterfly, 1,000 free and 1,650 free, as well as the 200 and 800 free relays and the 200 medley relay.

2014 SEC Swimming and Diving Awards


Men’s Swimming Coach of the Year: Gregg Troy, Florida

Women’s Swimming Coach of the Year: Steve Bultman, Texas A&M

Co-Men’s Diving Coach of the Year: Jeff Shaffer, Auburn

Co-Men’s Diving Coach of the Year: Jamie Sweeney, Missouri

Women’s Diving Coach of the Year: Dan Laak, Georgia

Men’s Swimmer of the Year: Marcin Cieslak, Florida

Women’s Swimmer of the Year: Brittany MacLean, Georgia

Men’s Diver of the Year: Mauricio Robles, Tennessee

Women’s Diver of the Year: Laura Ryan, Georgia

Men’s Freshman Swimmer of the Year: Mitch D’Arrigo, Florida

Women’s Freshman Swimmer of the Year: Olivia Smoliga, Georgia

Men’s Freshman Diver of the Year: Jordan Gotro, South Carolina

Men’s Co-Scholar-Athlete of the Year: T.J. Leon, Auburn

Men’s Co-Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Brad deBorde, Florida

Women’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Shannon Vreeland, Georgia

2014 SEC Swimmers and Divers of the Meet (announced at the SEC Championship)


Men’s Swimmer of the Meet: Sebastien Rousseau, Florida

Women’s Swimmer of the Meet: Breeja Larson, Texas A&M

Men’s Diver of the Meet: Ford McLiney, Texas A&M

Women’s Diver of the Meet: Laura Ryan, Georgia

Men’s All-SEC First Team

Marcelo Chierighini, Auburn

Marcin Cieslak, Florida

Kyle Darmody, Auburn

Brad deBorde, Florida

James Disney-May, Auburn

Michael Duderstadt, Auburn

Nicolas Fink, Georgia

Arthur Frayler, Florida

Christian-Paul Homer, Florida

Chase Kalisz, Georgia

Sean Lehane, Tennessee

T.J. Leon, Auburn

Corey Main, Florida

Anton McKee, Alabama

Ford McLiney, Texas A&M

Arthur Mendes, Auburn

Sebastien Rousseau, Florida

John Santeiu, Auburn

Eduardo Solaeche-Gomez, Florida

Dan Wallace, Florida


Men’s All-SEC Second Team

Jack Blyzinskyj, Florida

David Bonuchi, Missouri

Vlad Caciuc, Alabama

Matthew Curby, Florida

Mitch D’Arrigo, Florida

Taylor Dale, Georgia

Greg Ferrucci, Kentucky

Andrew Gemmell, Georgia

Kristian Gkolomeev, Alabama

Zane Grothe, Auburn

BJ Hornikel, Alabama

Matias Koski, Georgia

Gustav Aberg Ledjstrom, Tennessee

Fraser McKean, Auburn

Connor Oslin, Alabama

Luke Percy, Tennessee

Sam Rairden, Tennessee

Doug Reynolds, Georgia

Mauricio Robles, Tennessee

Connor Signorin, Florida

Tristan Slater, Tennessee

Ty Stewart, Georgia

Michael Trice, Georgia

Brett Walsh, Alabama

Pawel Werner, Alabama


Men’s SEC All-Freshman Team

Pace Clark, Georgia

Mitch D’Arrigo, Florida

Taylor Dale, Georgia

Kyle Darmody, Auburn

Michael Duderstadt, Auburn

Brandon Flynn, Kentucky

Jordan Gotro, South Carolina

Cam Jones, Auburn

Anton McKee, Alabama

Connor Oslin, Alabama

Joe Patching, Auburn

Brent Sagert, Alabama

Women’s All-SEC First Team

Cammile Adams, Texas A&M

Elizabeth Beisel, Florida

Ann-Perry Blank, Georgia

Kaylin Burchell, Alabama

Jessica Graber, Georgia

Molly Hannis, Tennessee

Lauren Harrington, Georgia

Lili Ibanez-Lopez, Texas A&M

Tori Lamp, Tennessee

Breeja Larson, Texas A&M

Maddie Locus, Georgia

Brittany MacLean, Georgia

Melanie Margalis, Georgia

Amber McDermott, Georgia

Caroline McElhany, Texas A&M

Paige Miller, Texas A&M

Laura Ryan, Georgia

Olivia Smoliga, Georgia

Chantal VanLandeghem, Georgia

Shannon Vreeland, Georgia

Ellese Zalewski, Florida

Women’s All-SEC Second Team

Christina Bechtel, Kentucky

Kelli Benjamin, Texas A&M

Sammie Bosma, Texas A&M

Harper Bruens, Tennessee

Erica Dittmer, Texas A&M

Hali Flickinger, Georgia

Lindsey Gendron, Tennessee

Molly Hannis, Tennessee

Sarah Henry, Texas A&M

Natalie Hinds, Florida

Faith Johnson, Tennessee

Faith Johnson, Tennessee

Hilda Luthersdottir, Florida

Lindsey McKnight, Florida

Meredith Oliver, Texas A&M

Lauren Reedy, Missouri

Sinead Russell, Florida

Lauren Solernou, Tennessee

Cherelle Thompson, Tennessee

Cassie Weil, LSU

Annie Zhu, Georgia

Rachel Zilinskas, Georgia

Women’s SEC All-Freshman Team

Bridget Blood, Alabama

Kendal Casey, Kentucky

Madison Hudkins, Texas A&M

Taylor Katz, Florida

Lindsay Keahey, Kentucky

Kara Kopcso, LSU

Sycerika McMahon, Texas A&M

Allyx Purcell, Auburn

Olivia Smoliga, Georgia

Ellie Suek, Missouri

Danielle Valley, Florida

Taylor Zablocki, Alabama

Rachel Zilinskas, Georgia

Story courtesy of Texas A&M Athletics

Short URL: http://wtaw.com/?p=79681

Posted by on Apr 10 2014. Filed under Sports.
Listen Live to WTAW 1620

© 2018 WTAW. All Rights Reserved. Log in -