Home » Featured Stories, News » Brazos County Primary Election Recap

Brazos County Primary Election Recap

election-2014-FeaturedJust over 13,000 participated in Tuesday’s Brazos County primary election.

County Clerk Karen McQueen says that’s a seven percent turnout of the 89,000 who are registered.

In the 2010 primary, turnout was 19,302.

McQueen did not have a split of the number of Republican and Democratic Party voters.

She said activity began slowly but picked up once the rain ended Tuesday morning, adding there were lines at the Brazos Center and a couple of other voting sites at 7 p.m.

McQueen says the only glitch was the county phones stopped working around 6 p.m., but communication continued with the use of personal cell phones.

Click HERE to read the results of the contested Brazos County primary races.

Click below for comments from Karen McQueen, visiting with WTAW’s Bill Oliver.



There were five incumbents who won primary elections and have no opposition in the November general election.

Steve Smith won re-election as 361st District Judge with nearly 58 percent of the vote in a three person race.

Click below for comments from Steve Smith, visiting with WTAW’s Bill Oliver.



Kyle Kacal won re-election as State Representative in House District 12 by winning the primary.

According to the Secretary of State’s office, Kacal received 76 percent of the vote in the rural district stretching from College Station to West.

Two years ago, he received the most votes in the primary but then had to win a runoff and the general election for his first term.

Click below for comments from Kyle Kacal, visiting with WTAW’s Bill Oliver.



For the second time, county commissioner Irma Cauley defeated Paul Madison in the Democratic primary to win the Precinct 4 seat.

Also winning re-election was Precinct 1 JP Mike McCleary and Precinct 2 Constable Donald Lampo.

Meantime, there will be two runoffs the Tuesday after Memorial Day, both to name new justices of the peace. In Precinct 2 it will be Tommy Munoz against Robbie James. And in Precinct 4 it will be Christina Butler facing Manny Aguilar.

Also winning a contested primary was Rick Hill for Precinct 3 JP.

Short URL:

Posted by on Mar 4 2014. Filed under Featured Stories, News.
Listen Live to WTAW 1620

11 hours ago

NewsTalk 1620 WTAW

‪One lane traffic on Highway 6 in Hearne during the noon hour due to street flooding.‬ ... See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook

© 2018 WTAW. All Rights Reserved. Log in -