Home » Sports » Cabrera, McCutchen Win MVPs

Cabrera, McCutchen Win MVPs

Detroit Tigers third baseman Miguel Cabrera and Pittsburgh Pirates outfielder Andrew McCutchen have won Major League Baseball’s Most Valuable Player Awards.

Cabrera won by a comfortable margin Thursday, getting 23 of 30 first-place votes from members of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America. Angels outfielder Mike Trout was second — again — and Baltimore star Chris Davis finished third.

McCutchen received 28 of the 30 first-place votes in the NL voting.

Cabrera became the first player to win two consecutive AL MVPs since Frank Thomas for the White Sox in 1993 and 1994. Albert Pujols won the NL MVP in 2008 and 2009.

Cabrera led the majors in hitting at .348 and took his third AL batting title in a row. The Venezuelan third baseman hit 44 home runs and had 137 RBIs, both second in baseball to Davis.

The 30-year-old Cabrera also topped the majors in on-base percentage and slugging. Cabrera easily captured the AL MVP last year when he won the Triple Crown while hitting .330 with 44 homers and 139 RBIs.

McCutchen hit .317 with 21 home runs and 84 RBIs.

Information from The Associated Press was used in this report.

Story courtesy of ESPN.com

Short URL: http://wtaw.com/?p=72460

Posted by on Nov 14 2013. Filed under Sports.
Listen Live to WTAW 1620

© 2018 WTAW. All Rights Reserved. Log in -