Home » Sports » Kershaw, Scherzer Win Cy Youngs

Kershaw, Scherzer Win Cy Youngs

Los Angeles Dodgers left-hander Clayton Kershaw and Detroit Tigers right-hander Max Scherzer are the 2013 Cy Young Award winners.

Kershaw finished 16-9 with an MLB-best 1.83 ERA and received all but one of the 30 first-place votes. Scherzer, who finished 21-3 with a 2.90 ERA in 32 starts, received 28 of 30 first-place votes in the AL.

Scherzer led the majors in wins, finished second in strikeouts (240) and third in WHIP (0.97).

Yu Darvish of the Texas Rangers and Hisashi Iwakuma of the Seattle Mariners finished second and third, respectively, in the AL voting. Adam Wainwright of the St. Louis Cardinals and rookieJose Fernandez of the Miami Marlins were second and third, respectively, in the NL.

The 29-year-old Scherzer became the second Tigers pitcher in three seasons to win the Cy Young Award, joining teammate Justin Verlander, who won in 2011.

Kershaw won his first Cy Young in 2011.

Story courtesy of

Short URL:

Posted by on Nov 13 2013. Filed under Sports.
Listen Live to WTAW 1620

Unable to display Facebook posts.
Show error

Error: (#4) Application request limit reached
Type: OAuthException
Code: 4
Please refer to our Error Message Reference.

© 2018 WTAW. All Rights Reserved. Log in -