Home » Featured Stories, News » Star of Texas Awards to Five Local First Responders

Star of Texas Awards to Five Local First Responders

This Thursday, members of the Bryan Fire and College Station Police Departments will receive the Star of Texas Award.

Since 2003, the honor has gone to first responders who have died or been seriously injured in the line of duty.

This year’s honorees include the Bryan firemen killed and critically burned in the Knights of Columbus Hall fire…Eric Wallace, Greg Pickard, Ricky Mantey Jr., and Mitch Moran.

This year’s recognition also includes College Station policeman Justin Oehlke, who was seriously injured by gunfire during the Fidelity Street shootings in August of last year that killed three people.

Additional information courtesy of Governor Perry’s office:

The ceremony will begin at 9:00 a.m. in the North Campus Sanctuary at Shoreline Church, 15201 Burnet Road in Austin, Texas 78728. Doors will open for media at 8:15 a.m. Please note that all bags and equipment will be searched upon entrance to the building. The live ceremony can also be viewed online by visiting http://governor.state.tx.us/news/live.

This year marks the 10th anniversary of the legislation creating the Star of Texas Award, which was established to honor and commemorate the bravery and selflessness of Texas’ first responders. In 2007, the award was expanded to include federal law enforcement officers or special agents seriously injured or killed while performing duties that assisted a state or local law enforcement agency in Texas. In 2013, Senate Bill 877 established the Citizens’ Star of Texas Award to recognize citizens who were seriously injured or killed while assisting first responders. Three advisory committees are appointed by the governor to review award nominations each year to ensure they meet statutory criteria.

This year’s award recipients are as follows:

Michael E. McLelland, Kaufman County District Attorney Cynthia McLelland

Terry J. Taylor, Bellaire Police Department Jimmy R. Matus, West Volunteer Fire Department William R. Uptmor Jr, West Volunteer Fire Department


FIRE FIGHTERS KILLED IN THE LINE OF DUTY Jerry D. Chapman, Abbott Volunteer Fire Department Kevin Sanders, Bruceville-Eddy Volunteer Fire Department Gregory W. Pickard, Bryan Fire Department Frank E. Wallace, Bryan Fire Department Cyrus A. Reed, Bynum and Elm Mott Volunteer Fire Departments Kenneth “Lucky” Harris Jr, Dallas Fire-Rescue Stanley A. Wilson, Dallas Fire-Rescue Robert Bebee, Houston Fire Department Robert Garner, Houston Fire Department Matthew Renaud, Houston Fire Department Anne Sullivan, Houston Fire Department Jalen S. Smith, Jackson Heights Volunteer Fire Department Perry W. Calvin, Navarro Mills Volunteer Fire Department Larry Nelson, Val Verde Co. Rural Volunteer Fire Department Morris W. Bridges Jr, West Volunteer Fire Department Cody F. Dragoo, West Volunteer Fire Department Joey F. Pustejovsky Jr, West Volunteer Fire Department Douglas J. Snokhous, West Volunteer Fire Department Robert Snokhous, West Volunteer Fire Department

PEACE OFFICERS KILLED IN THE LINE OF DUTY Craig G. Story, Arlington Police Department Bryan M. Hebert, Beaumont Police Department Jimmie D. Norman, Bellaire Police Department Brian D. Bachmann, Brazos County Constable Precinct 1 Angel D. Garcia, El Paso Police Department Jonathan K. Molina, El Paso Police Department Chad C. Key, Grayson County Sheriff’s Office Jaime J. Zapata, Homeland Security Investigations Lance A. McLean, Hood County Sheriff’s Office Mark E. Hasse, Kaufman County District Attorney’s Office D. Robert-Martin Harvey, Lubbock County Sheriff’s Office Larry D. Candelari, Pasadena Police Department Jesse T. Hamilton, Pasadena Police Department Joshua S. Mitchell, Reagan County Sheriff’s Office Edrees Mukhtar, San Antonio Police Department William J. Sprague, Texarkana Police Department Joshua S. Williams, Waxahachie Police Department

FIRE FIGHTERS SERIOUSLY INJURED IN THE LINE OF DUTY Ricky D. Mantey Jr, Bryan Fire Department Mitchel S. Moran, Bryan Fire Department Cameron E. Veitch, Community Volunteer Fire Department Johnnie J.D. Johnson, Corpus Christi Fire Department William Dowling, Houston Fire Department Anthony Livesay, Houston Fire Department Foster Santos, Houston Fire Department Robert Yarbrough, Houston Fire Department

PEACE OFFICERS SERIOUSLY INJURED IN THE LINE OF DUTY Toby W. Douglass, Arlington Police Department Kenneth C. Casaday, Austin Police Department Mandi L. Novak, Austin Police Department Jared S. Ralston, Austin Police Department Patricia M. Valdez, Austin Police Department Jose L. Esquivel, Bexar County Sheriff’s Office Justin C. Oehlke, College Station Police Department Watt Carroll Jr, Dallas Police Department Samuel B. Hussey, Dallas Police Department Matthew J. Wagner, Dallas Police Department Perry S. Kram, Fayette County Sheriff’s Office Josh R. Bell, Fort Worth Police Department Chad W. Davis, Granbury Police Department Roland E. Dahlin III, Harris County Constable Precinct 4 Leigh Ann Snyder, Longview Police Department Hector Camarillo, Madisonville Police Department James H. Boyd, Montague County Sheriff’s Office Michael R. Huffman, Pasadena Police Department Troy W. Clark, Texas Department of Public Safety Kent A. Coleman, Texas Department of Public Safety David R. Cramer, Texas Department of Public Safety Germaine C. Gaspard, Texas Department of Public Safety Robert J. Sims, Texas Department of Public Safety Arthur Senteno, Washington County Sheriff’s Office

Short URL: http://wtaw.com/?p=68928

Posted by on Sep 9 2013. Filed under Featured Stories, News.
Listen Live to WTAW 1620

© 2018 WTAW. All Rights Reserved. Log in -