Home » Featured Stories, News » Filing Begins for City-School Elections

Filing Begins for City-School Elections

The clock is now running for those interested in running for city council and school board positions.

Incumbents who filed Monday, the first day for the November election, included the mayors of College Station and Bryan, Nancy Berry and Jason Bienski.

Also filing for re-election was Bryan councilman Richard Cortez.

There will be at least one new member to the Bryan council, because Paul Madison is term-limited. There are two filings for Madison’s seat, Perry Stephney and Kevin Davenport.

There is one opening on the College Station council, the seat currently filled by Jess Fields.  Fields previously announced he would not seek re-election.  Steve Aldrich and Gary Ives have filed for that position.

The Bryan school board will have at least one new member, as Maritza Hoffman confirmed to WTAW News she is not seeking re-election. Filing for that position was Josh Smith.

There are three openings on the College Station school board. Jeff Harris filed for re-election, Randall Pitcock announced he will not run for a fourth term, and Michael Wesson is seeking the post now held by Garland Watson.

The deadline for filing is August 26.

Short URL:

Posted by on Jul 29 2013. Filed under Featured Stories, News.
Listen Live to WTAW 1620

© 2018 WTAW. All Rights Reserved. Log in -