Home » Sports » Evans Selected Second Team All-SEC

Evans Selected Second Team All-SEC

COLLEGE STATION, Texas  Following an outstanding regular season, Texas A&M senior golfer Drew Evans was honored Tuesday when he was named Second Team All-SEC by the league’s coaches.

The Dallas native leads the Aggies with a 72.74 scoring average in nine tournaments this season, including eight as a member of the Aggie line-up where 21 of his 24 rounds (88%) have counted toward the team score. Evans has notched five top-ten finishes on the year, including the team’s only individual win when he finished atop the leaderboard at the Individual Championship of the Kikkor Golf Husky Invitational with a five-under par 208.

Most recently, Evans was the highest-finishing Aggie at the SEC Championship by ending the tournament at 212, two-over par. His run at the championship was highlighted by a second-round 67 as well as a hole-in-one on No. 17 during the event’s final round.

Additionally this season, Evans has placed in the top 10 individually at the SeaBest Invitational (5th, +4), John Burns Intercollegiate (8th, +3) and Don Puckette National Invitational Tournament (9th, -4) while carding the Aggies’ lowest final round a team-best five times, including each of the previous three tournaments.

Jay Seawell of Alabama was named SEC’s Coach of Year and after the Crimson Tide captured the SEC Championship. Meanwhile, Alabama’s Cory Whitsett earned Golfer of the Year accolades while Taylor Moore of Arkansas and Matt NeSmith of South Carolina were co-honored as Freshman of the Year.

Scholar-Athlete of the Year recognition was shared between Austin Cook (Arkansas), Hunter Kraus (Missouri) and Whitsett (Alabama).

All-SEC honors were chosen by the league’s head coaches. Ties were not broken.



First Team All-SEC

Sebastian Cappelen, Arkansas

(SEC Championship Medalist)

Bobby Wyatt, Alabama

Justin Thomas, Alabama

Cory Whitsett, Alabama

Jace Long, Missouri

Tyler McCumber, Florida

Chad Ramey, Mississippi State

Oliver Goss, Tennessee

T.J. Mitchell, Mitchell

Curtis Thompson, LSU


Second Team All-SEC

Andrew Presley, LSU

Nicholas Reach, Georgia

Dykes Harbin, South Carolina

Axel Boasson, Mississippi State

Trey Millinax, Alabama

Michael Hebert, Auburn

T.J. Vogel, Florida

Drew Evans, Texas A&M


Freshman All-SEC

Taylor Moore, Arkansas

Matt NeSmith, South Carolina

Oliver Goss, Tennessee

Lee McCoy, Georgia

Jake Mondy, Auburn


Coach of the Year

Jay Seawell, Alabama


Golfer of the Year

Cory Whitsett, Alabama


Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Austin Cook, Arkansas

Hunter Kraus, Missouri

Cory Whitsett, Alabama


Freshman of the Year

Taylor Moore, Arkansas

Matt NeSmith, South Carolina

Story courtesy of Texas A&M Athletics

Short URL:

Posted by on Apr 30 2013. Filed under Sports.
Listen Live to WTAW 1620

6 hours ago

NewsTalk 1620 WTAW

Shake off those weekend cobwebs by tuning in to the 'Infomaniacs' from 6-9 on 1620 AM &! ... See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook

© 2018 WTAW. All Rights Reserved. Log in -