Home » Sports » 5 Aggies Drafted to NFL

5 Aggies Drafted to NFL

NEW YORK — Two more members of the 2012 Texas A&M football team were selected on the final day of the 2013 NFL Draft on Saturday at Radio City Music Hall.

Senior linebacker Sean Porter was taken in the fourth round (168th overall) by the Cincinnati Bengals, and senior wide receiver Ryan Swope was selected in the sixth round (174th overall) by the Arizona Cardinals.

The selections of Porter and Swope raised the total number of Aggies in the 2013 NFL Draft to five as they joined teammates Luke Joeckel (No. 2 overall in first round to the Jacksonville Jaguars), Christine Michael (second round to the Seattle Seahawks) and Damontre Moore (third round to the New York Giants). It was the most selections by the Aggies since five were picked in the 2008 NFL Draft.

Porter, from Schertz, Texas, was a three-year starter at linebacker and finished his career with 261 tackles in 52 games of action. Porter compiled 14.5 quarterback sacks and 34.5 tackles for loss during his career. As a senior, Porter contributed 66 tackles, with 3.5 sacks and 6.5 tackles for loss. He also had a crucial interception against Alabama when he grabbed an errant A.J. McCarron offering in the Aggies’ 29-24 over the then-No. 1-ranked Crimson Tide in Tuscaloosa, Alabama.

Swope, from Austin, Texas, finished his career as the Aggies’ all-time leader in catches and receiving yards. In 51 career games, Swope grabbed 252 catches for 3,117 yards and 24 touchdowns. He had 70 or more catches in each of the past three seasons, and he set the single season records of 89 catches and 1,207 yards as a junior in 2011. He finished his career with a school record 14 100-yard receiving games. In the single game records, his career high of 13 catches against Stephen F. Austin 2010 is tied for No. 2 and his career-best 206 yards against Baylor in 2011 ranks No. 5. In that same game against the Bears, Swope set a school record with four receiving touchdowns.

Several other members of the 2012 Aggies signed free agent contracts after not being selected in the draft: senior OL Patrick Lewis (Green Bay Packers), senior WR Uzoma Nwachukwu (Houston Texans), senior DB Steven Terrell (Jacksonville Jaguars), senior DL Spencer Nealy (New York Jets), senior DB/PR Dustin Harris (Dallas Cowboys), senior LB Jonathan Stewart (St. Louis Rams) and senior DB CJ Jones (Kansas City Chiefs).

Short URL:

Posted by on Apr 29 2013. Filed under Sports.
Listen Live to WTAW 1620

15 hours ago

NewsTalk 1620 WTAW

The Arts Council of the Brazos Valley announces the resignation of CEO Chris Dyer: ... See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook

© 2018 WTAW. All Rights Reserved. Log in -