Home » Sports » A&M Basketball Awards Banquet Winners

A&M Basketball Awards Banquet Winners

COLLEGE STATION, Texas – Student-athletes, coaches and friends of the Texas A&M men’s basketball program gathered inside the Diamond Club of Olsen Field at Blue Bell Park Tuesday night during the team’s annual awards banquet.

Highlighting the honorees was senior guard Elston Turner, who garnered the Most Outstanding Player award after a head-turning campaign that saw him capture first team All-SEC and All-District VII accolades.

A native of Sacramento, Calif., Turner was the Aggies’ top scorer all season long, leading the squad and ranking third in the SEC with a 17.5 point-per-game average. During SEC play, Turner stepped his game up to rank second in the conference with a 19.4 scoring average. For the season, he shot .426 from the field, while maintaining a .361 shooting percentage from beyond the 3-point arc.

Freshman guard Alex Caruso was named as the recipient of the Dominique Kirk Defensive Award. The College Station native etched his name in the A&M records books as he set a new school record for steals by a freshman by compiling 61 on the year, while also leading the team with 112 assists.

The Chris Walker Hustle Award was presented to senior forward Jarod Jahns, who embodied the true spirit of the 12th Man during his Aggie career. After earning a spot on the team during a walk-on tryout in the fall of 2010 and playing sparingly in only 12 games during his first two seasons, Jahns’ hard work paid off as he played in 32 games as a senior while drawing two starts.

After missing most of the 2011-12 campaign with a season-ending injury, redshirt sophomore forward Kourtney Roberson made an impact in his return to the court. The Arcadia, La., native was honored with the Top Rebounder Award after pulling down a team-high 219 rebounds to lead the Aggies with a 6.6 boards-per-game average.

Newcomer of the Year was presented to junior guard Fabyon Harris after an impressive first season in Aggieland following his transfer from the College of Southern Idaho. The Chicago native finished second on the team by averaging 12 points per game, including a 13.6 scoring average in SEC play while reaching double-digit points in 18 of the season’s final 21 contests.

Junior guard Blake McDonald was also honored during the banquet as he received both the Strength & Conditioning Award and the Unsung Hero Award, while sophomore guard Jordan Green was selected as the winner of the Daniel Scoates Garner Scholar-Athlete Award.

Additionally, members of the Aggie Angels and the Reed Rowdies were recognized for all of their contributions to Aggie Basketball.

Short URL: http://wtaw.com/?p=60659

Posted by on Apr 18 2013. Filed under Sports.
Listen Live to WTAW 1620

© 2018 WTAW. All Rights Reserved. Log in -