Home » Sports » Elston Turner Named First Team All-SEC

Elston Turner Named First Team All-SEC

COLLEGE STATION, Texas – Following a prolific regular season where he stood out as one of the nation’s top scorers, Texas A&M senior guard Elston Turner was rewarded on Tuesday as he was named First Team All-SEC by the league’s coaches.

The Sacramento, Calif., native has been the Aggies’ top scorer all season long, leading the squad and ranking third in the SEC with a 17.7 point per game average. During SEC play, Turner has stepped his game up, rank second in the conference with a 19.4 scoring average. For the season, he is shooting .437 from the field, while maintaining a .372 shooting percentage from beyond the 3-point arc.

Turner, who garnered honorable mention All-Big 12 honors a year ago, also ranks second on the Aggies with 72 assists, while also contributing 29 steals and seven blocked shots.

Among the many memorable games Turner has produced this season was an incredible 40-point outburst during Jan. 12th‘s victory at defending national champion Kentucky. Making 14-of-19 shots from the floor, including six 3-pointers, Turner became just the third player to score 40 points against the Wildcats at historic Rupp Arena, joining LSU’s Chris Jackson and Navy’s David Robinson. Additionally, he became the first Aggie to crack the 40-point mark since Don Marbury put up 41 against Baylor on Jan. 5, 1985.

Turner, who accumulated nine games of 20 or more points this season, also left his impression on the Reed Arena record book, setting the arena record for most points in a men’s game not once, but twice this year. During a win over Ole Miss on Feb. 13, Turner poured in an amazing 37 points to break the previous Reed Arena scoring record, which had been held by Baylor’s Curtis Jerrells, who scored 36 during a five-overtime contest on Jan. 23, 2008.

The record stood for just 10 days as Turner was at it again on Feb. 23 when he notched 38 points during a four-overtime thriller against Tennessee.

Joining Turner on the All-SEC First Team where Trevor Releford (Alabama), Erik Murphy (Florida), Kentavious Caldwell-Pope (Georgia), Nerlens Noel (Kentucky), Johnny O’Bryant III (LSU), Phil Pressey (Missouri) and Jordan McRae (Tennessee).

Florida’s Billy Donovan was named SEC Coach of the Year while Caldwell-Pope garnered Player of the Year accolades. Kentucky’s Nerlens Noel earned both Freshman of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year honors while teammate Kyle Wiltjer was selected Sixth Man of the Year and Florida’s Patric Young named Scholar-Athlete of the Year.


First Team All-SEC

Trevor Releford, Alabama – G, 6-1, 195, Jr., Kansas City, Mo.

Erik Murphy, Florida – F/C, 6-10, 238, Sr., South Kingstown, R.I.

Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Georgia – G, 6-5, 205, So., Greenville, Ga.

Nerlens Noel, Kentucky – F, 6-10, 228, Fr., Everett, Mass.

Johnny O’Bryant III, LSU – F, 6-9, 256, So., Cleveland, Miss.

Phil Pressey, Missouri – G, 5-11, 175, Jr., Dallas, Texas

Jordan McRae, Tennessee – G, 6-5, 178, Jr., Midway, Ga.

Elston Turner, Texas A&M – G, 6-5, 209, Sr., Sacramento, Calif.


Second Team All-SEC

Marshawn Powell, Arkansas – F, 6-7, 240, Jr., Newport News, Va.

BJ Young, Arkansas – G, 6-3, 180, So, St. Louis, Mo.

Kenny Boynton, Florida – G, 6-2, 190, Sr., Pompano Beach, Fla.

^Mike Rosario, Florida – G, 6-3, 183, Sr., Jersey City, N.J.

^Patric Young, Florida – C, 6-9, 249, Jr., Jacksonville, Fla.

Marshall Henderson, Ole Miss – G, 6-2, 175, Jr., Hurst, Texas

Murphy Holloway, Ole Miss – F, 6-7, 240, Sr., Irmo, S.C.

Laurence Bowers, Missouri – F, 6-8, 227, Sr., Memphis, Tenn.

Jarnell Stokes, Tennessee – F, 6-8, 270, So., Memphis, Tenn.


SEC All-Freshman Team

Michael Frazier II, Florida – G, 6-4, 200, Fr., Tampa, Fla.

Charles Mann, Georgia – G, 6-4, 205, Fr., Alpharetta, Ga.

^Willie Cauley-Stein, Kentucky – F, 7-0, 244, Fr., Olathe, Kan.

Archie Goodwin, Kentucky – G, 6-4.5, 198, Fr., Little Rock, Ark.

Nerlens Noel, Kentucky – F, 6-10, 228, Fr., Everett, Mass.

^Alex Poythress, Kentucky – F, 6-7, 239, Fr., Clarksville, Tenn.

Craig Sword, Mississippi State – G, 6-3, 189, Fr., Montgomery, Ala.

^Gavin Ware, Mississippi State – F, 6-9, 270, Fr., Starkville, Miss.

Michael Carrera, South Carolina – F, 6-5, 212, Fr., Anzoátegui, Venezuela


SEC All-Defensive Team

^Trevor Releford, Alabama – G, 6-1, 185, Jr., Kansas City, Mo.

Scottie Wilbekin, Florida – G, 6-2, 176, Jr., Gainesville, Fla.

^Patric Young, Florida – C, 6-9, 249, Jr., Jacksonville, Fla.

Nerlens Noel, Kentucky – F, 6-10, 228, Fr., Everett, Mass.

Anthony Hickey, LSU – G, 5-11, 178, So., Hopkinsville, Ky.

Reginald Buckner, Ole Miss – F, 6-9, 235, Sr., Memphis, Tenn.

^-Ties are not broken


SEC Coach of the Year: Billy Donovan, Florida

SEC Player of the Year: Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Georgia

SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Patric Young, Florida

SEC Freshman of the Year: Nerlens Noel, Kentucky

SEC Sixth-Man of the Year: Kyle Wiltjer, Kentucky

SEC Defensive Player of the Year: Nerlens Noel, Kentucky

Short URL:

Posted by on Mar 12 2013. Filed under Sports.
Listen Live to WTAW 1620

Unable to display Facebook posts.
Show error

Error: (#4) Application request limit reached
Type: OAuthException
Code: 4
Please refer to our Error Message Reference.

© 2018 WTAW. All Rights Reserved. Log in -