Home » Sports » Aggie Women Grab Runner-Up Honors at SECs

Aggie Women Grab Runner-Up Honors at SECs

COLLEGE STATION, Texas — With wins in seven events, including five in meet record fashion, the Texas A&M women’s swimming and diving team closed out the five-day Southeastern Conference Championships with a runner-up finish in its first-ever SEC meet.

The No. 10 Aggies were in contention for the team crown until the final day, but couldn’t catch No. 8 Georgia which won its fourth straight SEC team title. The Aggies scored 1,296 points, which was 124 behind the Bulldogs (1,420). Rounding out the team standings were No. 5 Florida (1190.5), No. 7 Tennessee (1,018), No. 3 Auburn (860), LSU (494), Missouri (487), Kentucky (368.5), Alabama (353), South Carolina (248) and Vanderbilt (183).

Aggie junior Breeja Larson was named SEC Female Swimmer of the Year after a record-setting week. Larson bettered her own NCAA, American and U.S. Open record in the 100-yard breaststroke, and she broke the SEC meet record in the 200 breaststroke and with the 400 medley relay. On Saturday, Larson broke the SEC meet record for the 200 breast in the morning prelims with time of 2:06.99, and then re-broke it in the evening finals with a 2:05.71 clocking.

The other Aggie with a pair of individual wins was sophomore Sarah Henry, who won the 500 free on Wednesday and added a win in the 1,650 freestyle on Saturday. Henry out-classed the field in the mile with a SEC meet record and school record time of 15:45.79, which broke the old SEC mark of 15:47.04 set by Wendy Trott of Georgia last year. Contributing a third-place finish in the race was senior Maureen McLaine, who turned in a lifetime best time of 15:55.81.

In the 100 free style, sophomore Lili Ibanez sped to her lifetime best of 48.48 while winning the consolation final. The time moved Ibanez to No. 3 on the Aggies’ top 10 list behind Triin Aljand and Julia Wilkinson. Also contributing points in the consolation final were junior Erica Dittmer (49.04) and sophomore Sammie Bosma (49.06).

The Aggies took seventh, eighth and 10th in the 200 backstroke with junior transfer Melanie McClure taking seventh in 1:54.51, senior Tess Simpson placing eighth in 1:54.69 and freshman Claire Brandt finishing 10th in 1:54.93. McClure’s time put her in the Aggies’ historical top 10 at No. 5.

In addition to Larson’s win in the 100 breast, the Aggies had strong contributions from freshman Ashley McGregor and freshman Romy Landeck. McGregor placed third in the Championships final with a time of 2:07.55, while Landeck chopped nearly three seconds off her prelims time to win the “C” final from lane eight in 2:11.84.

The Aggies closed out the day and the Championships with a fourth-place finish in the 400 free relay in an “A” cut time of 3:15.24 from Bosma, Dittmer, sophomore Kelli Benjamin and Ibanez.

Story courtesy of Texas A&M Athletics

Short URL:

Posted by on Feb 24 2013. Filed under Sports.
Listen Live to WTAW 1620

12 hours ago

NewsTalk 1620 WTAW

‪One lane traffic on Highway 6 in Hearne during the noon hour due to street flooding.‬ ... See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook

© 2018 WTAW. All Rights Reserved. Log in -