Home » Sports » BCS National Champions in Tuscaloosa

BCS National Champions in Tuscaloosa

 The Crimson Tide breezed to their second straight BCS championship and third in
four seasons with a convincing 42-14 rout of Notre Dame.
 AJ McCarron and Eddie Lacy highlighted an Alabama offense that scored
touchdowns on its first three drives and led 35-0 before the Irish reached the
end zone. McCarron completed 20 of his 28 passes for 264 yards and four
touchdowns, two to Amari Cooper. Lacy rushed for a 20-yard touchdown less than
three minutes into the game and finished with 140 yards on 20 carries. Lacy also
caught a scoring strike that put the Tide ahead 28-0 just before halftime.
 Alabama finished with 529 total yards, including 265 on the ground. T.J. Yeldon
padded the Tide’s ground attack with 108 yards and one TD on 21 carries.
 Notre Dame was shut out until Everett Golson rushed for a two-yard touchdown
late in the third quarter. Golson also threw a short scoring pass to Theo
Riddick and was 21-of-36 for 270 yards and one interception.
 Alabama finishes 13-1 after becoming the third team to win three national
titles in four seasons since polls started being used to crown champions in
1936, and the first since Nebraska from 1994-97. It’s the fourth championship
for Nick Saban, two behind all-time record-holder Paul “Bear” Bryant of
 The Irish had allowed just two rushing touchdowns heading into the game. The
Tide matched that by the four-second mark of the second quarter and controlled
the ball for 38 minutes to turn the well-hyped matchup into a lopsided game.

Short URL:

Posted by on Jan 8 2013. Filed under Sports.
Listen Live to WTAW 1620

© 2018 WTAW. All Rights Reserved. Log in -