Home » Sports » Three Aggies Earn Consensus All-America Honors

Three Aggies Earn Consensus All-America Honors

Courtesy: Texas A&M Athletics
For the first time in program history, a trio of Texas A&M football players have been named Consensus All-American by the NCAA, including Unanimous All-American Luke Joeckel. Joeckel, a junior offensive tackle from Arlington, was listed on all five teams selected by the major organizations used to compile the consensus team – American Football Coaches Association, Associated Press, Football Writers Association of America, The Sporting News and Walter Camp Football Foundation. Making Consensus All-American, in addition to Joeckel, were redshirt freshman quarterback Johnny Manziel and junior defensive end Damontre Moore. To be named consensus, players must be named first team on at least two of the five selected All-American teams. Second and third teams were used to break ties. Prior to 2012, Texas A&M has had multiple consensus All-Americans in four seasons with a pair in 1940 (RB John Kimbrough and OL Marshall Robnett), 1975 (LB Ed Simonini and DB Pat Thomas), 1976 (PK Tony Franklin and LB Robert Jackson) and 1993 (DE Sam Adams and DB Aaron Glenn).

Short URL: http://wtaw.com/?p=53002

Posted by on Dec 18 2012. Filed under Sports.
Listen Live to WTAW 1620

© 2018 WTAW. All Rights Reserved. Log in -