Home » Sports » Outland Trophy, Maxwell, Davey O’Brien Awards and Coach of the Year?

Outland Trophy, Maxwell, Davey O’Brien Awards and Coach of the Year?

The Texas A&M football team’s successful first season in the Southeastern Conference has paid dividends. First-year coach Kevin Sumlin was named a semifinalist for the National Coach of the Year Award, by the Maxwell Football. Sumlin was one of 16 semifinalists for the award.

Junior offensive tackle Luke Joeckel was named finalist for the Outland Trophy, which is given annually to the nation’s top interior lineman. Redshirt freshman quarterback Johnny Manziel was named finalist for the Maxwell Award and the Davey O’Brien Award. The Maxwell Award is for the Collegiate Player of the Year, while the O’Brien Award is given to the nation’s best college quarterback. And of Course Johnny Football is, at this point the leading contender for the Heisman. And since we’re talking Johnny…He was named S E C Freshman of the Week for a record eighth time this season.  The previous high number of SEC freshman weekly honors was three, which was achieved by five players. Manziel, has won the award the past four weeks and after eight of the Aggies’ 11 games.

The Aggies will be seeking its first 10-win season since 1998 when we host Missouri in the regular season finale on Saturday at 6:00 on 1620 WTAW.

Short URL:

Posted by on Nov 20 2012. Filed under Sports.
Listen Live to WTAW 1620

12 hours ago

NewsTalk 1620 WTAW

‪One lane traffic on Highway 6 in Hearne during the noon hour due to street flooding.‬ ... See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook

© 2018 WTAW. All Rights Reserved. Log in -