Home » Featured Stories, News » Election 2012 Results

Election 2012 Results

Brazos County election results were tabulated before 10 p.m. Tuesday night. 

56,700 votes were cast in the general election, more than 62 percent of the 91,238 registered. There were 34,144 who took advantage of early voting, or 60 percent of the those who voted.

Election2012mcqueen.mp3WTAW’s Scott DeLucia & Bill Oliver visit with Brazos County Clerk Karen McQueen.

Election2012roe.mp3WTAW’s Scott DeLucia & Bill Oliver visit with Brazos County Voter Registrar Kristy Roe.

County Clerk Karen McQueen says yet to be counted are more than 300 provisional ballots. That could make a difference in the outcome of the Bryan City Council at-large race, where Chuck Konderla avoided a runoff by 156 votes.

Election2012konderla.mp3WTAW’s Bill Oliver visits with Bryan City Councilman Chuck Konderla.

Konderla received 51 percent of the vote to defeat Lloyd Joyce, who had 36 percent, and Rafael Pena, who had 13 percent.

Also winning re-election to the Bryan council was Art Hughes, while Greg Owens won his first term.  Hughes and Owens both received more than 60 percent of the vote.

Another winner with 60 percent of the vote was Tommy Bosquez, who becomes the newest member of the Bryan school board.

Election2012bosquez.mp3WTAW’s Bill Oliver visits with Bryan school board member-elect Tommy Bosquez.

Like Bosquez, Owens, and Hughes, state representative John Raney received 60 percent of the vote to win his first full term representing House District 14.

Election2012raney2.mp3WTAW’s Bill Oliver visits with HD 14 Representative John Raney.

The last race to be decided on election night was House District 12 race, stretching from Bryan/College Station to near Waco. Kyle Kacal won Brazos and Limestone counties. Robert Stem won Robertson, Falls, and McLennan counties. Bottom line was Kacal winning by almost 7,000, and hiss margin of victory in Brazos County was nearly 8,000.

Election2012kacal.mp3WTAW’s Bill Oliver visits with HD 12 Representative-Elect Kyle Kacal.

The new state senator representing Brazos County is Charles Schwertner of Georgetown, who had more than 80 percent of the local vote.  He spent part of the evening in Bryan.

Election2012schwertner.mp3WTAW’s Scott DeLucia visits with State Senator-Elect Charles Schwertner.

Congressman Bill Flores of Bryan was re-elected to a second term, getting more than 83 percent of the Brazos County vote.

Election2012floresSpeech.mp3Election night comments from Congressman Bill Flores to his supporters.

Election2012floresintv.mp3Congressman Bill Flores visits with WTAW’s Scott DeLucia.

And all of the College Station city charter changes were approved by at least a 3-1 margin.

Short URL:

Posted by on Nov 7 2012. Filed under Featured Stories, News.
Listen Live to WTAW 1620

© 2018 WTAW. All Rights Reserved. Log in -