Home » Featured Stories, Sports » A&M-Arkansas Football To Resume At Cowboys Stadium in 2014

A&M-Arkansas Football To Resume At Cowboys Stadium in 2014

News release courtesy of

Photo courtesy of A&M athletics.

Texas A&M University and the University of Arkansas, along with the Dallas Cowboys’ organization, have agreed to a new long-term series to play the annual football game between the two schools at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington beginning in 2014 and continuing through the 2024 season.

Texas A&M and Arkansas had played the Southwest Classic three times in a 10-year neutral site non-conference series beginning in 2009 at Cowboys Stadium. With the Aggies’ move to the Southeastern Conference, the game is now a Western Division contest and the 2012 game will be played at Kyle Field, with the 2013 contest scheduled for the Razorbacks’ home stadium.

“We appreciate Jerry Jones and everyone in the Cowboys’ organization working with us over the past year concerning the future of the Arkansas series at Cowboys Stadium. This was a significant, unresolved issue as part of our transition to the SEC, and it was imperative for Texas A&M to play Arkansas at Kyle Field this season – our first as a member of the conference,” said Texas A&M President R. Bowen Loftin. “Having a game annually in the MetroPlex is very advantageous for Texas A&M from a visibility and recruiting standpoint, and we have an annual opportunity for our student-athletes to experience one of the country’s finest football stadiums.”

The last meeting at Kyle Field between the two schools was Nov. 16, 1991 as part of the Southwest Conference, with Texas A&M winning, 13-3, in a game nationally televised by ESPN. The Razorbacks came out in the wishbone formation on offense that day, but the Wrecking Crew held the Hogs to 121 yards of total offense.

The two schools first met on the gridiron in 1903 with Texas A&M winning, 6-0. Texas A&M and Arkansas were part of the inaugural group of eight schools that formed the Southwest Conference in 1915. From 1934 through 1991, the teams met every season as part of the Southwest Conference. Arkansas withdrew from the league in 1991 to join the Southeastern Conference. Texas A&M was part of the formation of the Big 12 Conference in 1996 and has joined the SEC in 2012.

Short URL:

Posted by on Aug 29 2012. Filed under Featured Stories, Sports.
Listen Live to WTAW 1620

Unable to display Facebook posts.
Show error

Error: (#4) Application request limit reached
Type: OAuthException
Code: 4
Please refer to our Error Message Reference.

© 2018 WTAW. All Rights Reserved. Log in -