Brazos County Tax Assessor-Collector Sees Title TroublesFeatured Stories, News Friday, July 6th, 2012
Brazos County Tax Assessor-Collector Kristy Roe is seeing more problems as vehicle purchasers come to her office processing new title requests.
Roe says the key is getting it done within the state mandated limit of 30 days by filing the free Vehicle Transfer Notification on the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles website. Roe says you will receive the state-guaranteed protection from liability, which means you cannot be held responsible for anything the buyer does with your old vehicle.
Failure to title within the 30 days results in an automatic $25 penalty, plus another $25 for each month the title is late. There are no waivers for these penalties, which means the Brazos county tax office and the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles cannot reduce or forgive what you may owe.
The law does grant an additional 30 days to active-duty military personnel, which gives them 60 days to transfer the title before facing late title penalties.
And for vehicle sellers, Roe tells you to remove yourself as the owner right away. That includes removing license plates and peeling off the windshield registration sticker.
Short URL: http://wtaw.com/?p=45089